Nine Inductees Enter Carmi Sports Hall of Fame

By: Toby Brown
Apr 21st, 2014

The Carmi Sports Hall of Fame held its formal induction ceremony for its 2009 Class Saturday evening at Four Corners Restaurant in Carmi.

Five athletes from the late 90s and early 2000s were inducted: Crystal Peyton from the Class of 1997; John Barbre, Chris Budde and Holly Shook from the Class of '99; and Jennifer Goin from the Class of 2001.

The two men who guided the Bulldog and Lady Bulldog basketball teams during the '90s, Brad Lee and Don Dixon, respectively, were added to the Hall's list.

The night also featured two posthumous inductions: David Muse from the Class of 1966 and Jeff Stevens, who graduated in '76.  Muse's mother, Betty Brown of Carmi, accepted the Hall of Fame plaque on his behalf. 

Scott Rice, the chairman of the Carmi Sports Hall of Fame Committee, inducted Muse and Stevens.  Rice read an e-mail from Stevens' brother, Joe, who said he regretted being unable to attend the event, but thanked the committee on behalf of his family. 

Nine inductees were honored Saturday evening at the Four Corners Restaurant.  Left to right are Brad Lee, Harold Poore (accepting on behalf of the late Jeff Stevens), John Barbre, Chris Budde, Don Dixon, Crystal Peyton, Jennifer (Goin) Forker, Holly Shook-Messer and Betty Brown (accepting on behalf of her son, the late David Muse).

Saturday's induction included a couple of firsts for the Hall.  Barbre and Budde became the first two wrestlers inducted into the Hall, and Goin's induction created the first father-daughter combo in the Hall, as her father, Randy, the Bulldog basketball skipper for much of the 1980s, had been inducted in 1997.

The man who coached Barbre and Budde in wrestling, Terry Gholson, inducted both of his former standout grapplers.  He noted that their class helped launch the Golden Age of the Carmi wrestling team, as it has had a winning season every year since 1999, and has averaged only five losses per season in that time span.

Barbre and Budde were each state qualifiers in 1999, and were also standouts on the gridiron, as well.

Goin got a collective laugh from the crowd when she thanked her father, Randy, "for never trying to be my coach" during her acceptance speech.  The elder Goin is the second-winningest boys' basketball coach in Carmi history, but had retired by the time his daughter was breaking records on the hardwood.

Peyton, the first Lady Bulldog basketball player to score 1,000 points, called her playing days, "some of the best times of my life."  She was also a standout volleyball and softball player.

Shook, one of the most dominant pitchers ever to step in the circle for the Lady Bulldog softball team, now officiates volleyball, basketball and softball in Missouri, and noted how thankful she was for the coaching that she received at Carmi.

Lee was also very appreciative of his former high school coaches and coaching peers: McLeansboro's Curt Reed, Randy Smithpeters, Willie Grubb and David Lee, who, he noted, have combined for two state championships, three third-place finishes at state and another fourth.

Lee, like all the other inductees, also had special praise for his family for their support.  He thanked his father for instilling in him the will to compete, and his mother, who passed away nine years ago, for being his biggest supporter.

Dixon had been a very successful middle school boys' basketball coach before taking over the Lady Bulldog program in the '90s and posting a staggering .851 winning percentage with them. 

"I know I wouldn't be up here were it not for the grace of God and a lot of good players," Dixon said in his acceptance speech.

Dixon and Goin were inducted by former Carmi Times sportswriter (and Hall of Fame Committee member) Bryan Weaver, Lee by his former assistant coach, Todd Rice, and Peyton and Shook by former WROY/WRUL sports director and Carmi Times sportswriter Toby Brown.

Several of the inductors and inductees paid tribute to the late John Evers, who helped found the Carmi Sports Hall of Fame in 1986.  Evers passed away in 2011.  His wife, Karen, was present at the ceremony.

At the evening's conclusion, Scott Rice informed the crowd that the committee would be announcing its next class of inductees very soon.

Carmi Sports Hall of Fame members


Elected 1986

Jack Bonelli

Benny Bradley

Preston Coale

Gordon Dagley

Bill Egbert

John Given

E.J. Harrington

Pershing Howell

U.B. Jeffries

Kevin Kane

Larry Kane

Charles Lamp

Mike McCombs

John McDougal

Frank McElyea

Tom Mears

Don Shroyer

Ted Smith

Ken Winter

Ron Winter


Elected 1987

Doug Ackerman

Keith Bratton

Troy Deitz

Delbert Hargrove

David Johnson

Carl Justice

Don McCallister

Louie Mitchell

Bill Mobley

Mike Morrill

Harold Poore

Don Sturgal

Mark Winter

Jeryl Wright


Elected 1988

Bill Collard

Mary Fechtig

Steve Stone


Elected 1990

Jeff Haley

Roy O’Neal


Elected 1992

Kelly Ackerman

Bob Brown

David McMillan


Elected 1994

Jeff Brown

Teresa Emery

John Evers

Rob Gaddey


Elected 1995

Teresa Behrend

Fred Kendall


Elected 1996

Steve Cox


Elected 1997

Matt Campbell

Randy Goin

Patrick Greathouse

Jay Rector


Elected 2000

Georgia Bramlet

Archie Brown

Mike Croghan

Tara Glove

Edward Hillyard

William Hubble

Jason Zieren


Elected 2002

John Gidcumb

Tara Mercer Kessler


Elected 2009

John Barbre

Chris Budde

Don Dixon

Jennifer Goin

Brad Lee

David Muse

Crystal Peyton

Holly Shook

Jeff Stevens